

# **OCC Academic Senate Executive Board Meeting Minutes**

## Tuesday, April 26, 2022, 12:30-1:30 PM, via Zoom

**E-Board Members in Attendance:** Vice-President Rendell Drew, President Lee Gordon, Secretary and PDI Chair Marilyn Kennedy, Curriculum Chair Charles Otwell (non-voting), Immediate Past President Loren Sachs (non-voting) **E-Board Members Absent:** None.

Guests Officially Signed In: None.

## I. Preliminary Matters

(Please note that the Presiding Officer's vote shall be recorded as an abstention, unless breaking a tie vote.)

- A. <u>Call to Order:</u> President Gordon called the meeting to order at 12:39 PM.
- B. <u>Public Comments:</u> Public comments.
- **C.** <u>Approval of the Minutes:</u> *Motion 1: Secretary Kennedy* moved to approve the April 5, 12, 19, 2022, meeting minutes; motion seconded; approved. [1 abstention by the presiding officer.]

## II. Discussion of Upcoming Agenda Items

#### A. Agenda Items:

**May 3:** BPAP Report, Transparency Report, part-time senator elections, accreditation timelines, DEIA Task Force Report

Later in May: Senate officer elections, Senate and Zoom, fall flex ideas

#### B. Consent Calendar Items Draws:

- 1. PDI Conference Subcommitee (1 position): Selected: Daniel Goya-Lane; alternates: Cristina Montano, Eric Cohen, Charlene Reed.
- 2. EEO & Equity Advisory Committee (2 positions): Selected: Flavia Ruzi, Kelly Holt; alternate: Sam Yip
- 3. Tenure-Track Evaluation Committee Senate Appointees for Outside-the-Discipline (1 position each):
  - a) Business & Computing, Computer Science: Selected: Laura Reese; alternate: Meredith Montagne
  - b) **Counseling, Athletics:** *Selected: Rachel Berman;* alternate: Chris Evans
  - c) Math & Sciences, Mathematics: Selected: Flavia Ruzi; alternate: Glynis Hoffman
  - d) Technology, Aviation Maintenance: Selected: Angelo Esposito; alternate: Jeanne Neil
  - e) Literature & Languages, English: Selected: Laura Reese; alternates: Meredith Montagne, Rachel Berman
  - f) Math & Sciences, Physiology: Selected: Gabriela Ernsberger; alternate: Genevieve Zuidervaart
  - g) Social & Behavioral Sciences, Ethnic Studies: Selected: Genevieve Zuidervaart; alternates: Rachel Berman, Sherana Polk
  - h) Consumer & Health Sciences, Early Childhood Education: Selected: Laura Reese; alternates: Genevieve Zuidervaart, Sherana Polk
  - i) Counseling, General: Selected: Felicia Coco; alternates: Rachel Berman, Tabitha Liang
  - j) Visual & Performing Arts, 3-D Sculpture: Selected: Laura Behr; alternates: Tabitha Liang, Arnold Guerra
  - k) Consumer & Health Sciences, Speech/Language Pathology: Selected: Laura Reese; alternates: Meredith Montagne, Chris Evans
  - Consumer & Health Sciences, Cardiovascular Technology: Selected: Meredith Montagne; alternates: Gabriela Ernsberger, Laura Behr
  - m) Math & Sciences, Marine Science (replacement): Selected: Meredith Montagne; alternates Caryn Plum, Laura Reese
  - n) Counseling, EOPS: Selected: Jessica Ayo Alabi; alternate: Felicia Coco

o) Technology, Electronics: This position was placed on the Senate's April 4, 2022, call-out for tenure-track volunteers along with the positions above; the faculty hiring position was pulled due to Electronics' past low enrollments and concerns with not making load for any potential new hire. Therefore, the position was replaced with the next faculty hire on the list, philosophy, as per OCC President Suarez. President Gordon requested that the E-Board appoint Eric Cuellar to this Senate appointee position for the tenure-track evaluation committee. Secretary Kennedy stated that the position should be sent out to all faculty to be fair as per the Senate's approved process [Committee Member and Task Force Volunteer Appointment Selection Process Resolution] or place the faculty member names in a draw for those who had indicated in the current call-out that they were willing to serve on any tenure-track evaluation committee has not yet been formed for this position. President Gordon disagreed and stated there were "time constraints" and moved for a vote on this motion: "Shall we designate Eric Cuellar to serve on the tenure-track committee for the philosophy position?" Motion passed with these votes: Vice-President Drew: yes, Secretary Kennedy: no; President Gordon broke the tie with his vote: yes.]

#### III. Adjournment: President Gordon adjourned the meeting at 2:15 PM. *Minutes Approved: May 17, 2022*