

OCC Academic Senate Executive Board Meeting Minutes

Tuesday, October 27, 2020, 12:35-1:35 PM, via Confer Zoom

E-Board Members/Attendance: Vice-President Lee Gordon, Secretary and PDI Chair Marilyn Kennedy, Parliamentarian Douglas Lloyd, Curriculum Chair Charles Otwell (non-voting), President Loren Sachs

Guests: Arabian Morgan

- **I. Call to Order:** President Sachs called the meeting to order at 12:35 PM.
- II. Public Comments: Arabian Morgan
- **III. Approval of the Minutes:** *Motion 1: Secretary Kennedy moved* to approve the October 20, 2020, meeting minutes; motion seconded; approved unanimously.
- IV. Executive Board Member Reports:

President Sachs: Reported out from the Budget meeting that there is a 10% head count drop, and a 16% FTEs drop at OCC. Coastline is way down. There are 78 California community college campuses [out of 115 total] in the "hold harmless" category. [See "Higher Education" paper, page 24, for definition of "hold harmless"]. The CSUs are experiencing record-breaking attendance due to their marketing. President Sachs suggested that the Senate might discuss Covid and the campus but should include the union as part of the discussion as it intersects working conditions as well as the 10 + 1. He discussed briefly with the E-Board the upcoming fall plenary session and registration verifications.

- V. Discussion of Upcoming Agenda Items: November 3: Academic Freedom report, PDI report, AP 7120C Faculty Hiring, Equity and Inclusion Resolution (if ready as per committee), ASCCC Inclusivity Statement, Faculty Selection for Starfish Implementation, Resolutions for Starfish Implementation. Mid-November: Viability, Zoom, cameras, and captioning
- VI. Consent Calendar Items Discussion/Selections for Next Week:

President's Task Force on Equity and Inclusion: Academic Administrative Assistant Rodriguez did a draw for the names from the eleven names submitted by the deadline for the four faculty seats and their alternates on the President's Task Force on Equity and Inclusion. President Sachs reminded the E-Board that a division could only have one member on the Task Force. The following names were drawn in this order for the four Task Force Members: (1) Rebecca Ogaz (Counseling/DSPS), (2) Anna Hanlon (Athletics and Kinesiology), (3) Shannon Wells (Technology), (4) Kisha Williamson-Champion (CHS). The following names were drawn as alternates for the Task Force in this order: (5) Timothy Peters (Technology), (6) Jeanne Neil (Business and Computing), (7) Jamaal Lee (Athletics and Kinesiology), (8) Steve Spencer (Athletics and Kinesiology), (9) Maria Do (Social and Behavioral Sciences, (10) Eduardo Arismendi-Pardi (Math and Sciences), (11) Jaime Speed Rossiter (Social and Behavioral Sciences).

Student Appeals Board: Academic Administrative Assistant Rodriguez did a draw for the two to four faculty seats for the Student Appeals Board. The names were drawn in this order: (1) Michael Beale, (2) Joel Gonzalez, (3) Leslie Persona-Lancaster, (4) Shauhin Davari, (5) Mike Mann, (6) Lee Gordon, (7) Phatana Ith, (8) Kevin Castillo, (9) Carol Barnes.

VII. Adjournment: President Sachs adjourned the meeting at 1:35 PM

Minutes Approved: November 3, 2020