Associated Students of Orange Coast College SGOCC Student Senate

MEETING Minutes

Friday, September 1, 2017; 9:00 a.m.

ASOCC Office

2701 Fairview Road • Costa Mesa, California 92626 • (714) 432-5507

I.Organizational Items

I.01 Call to Order: 9:01 a.m.

I.02 Roll Call

Student Senators: Erfan Behrangi, Haley Burg, Jake Chustz, Katherine Hoang, Jesse Lopez, Caitlyn Nojiri (arrived at 9:14 a.m.), Jose Sanchez (arrived at 9:03 a.m.), Viktoriia Vasileva, & Ethan Wien

Executive Board: David Vo, Frances Sanchez, Leanna Gutierrez (arrived at 9:17 a.m.), Nick Liszewski (arrived at 9:05 a.m.), Junell Brown, &

Kristina Tseng

ASOCC Staff: Eva Shaffer Advisor: Julie Nguyen

I.03 Opportunity for Pledge of Allegiance

I.04 Approval of Minutes

Minutes from Associated Students of Orange Coast College (ASOCC), Student Government of Orange Coast College (SGOCC) Student Senate Meeting dated May 19, 2017 approved without objection.

II.Public Forum

III.Reports

III.01 Fiscal Affairs Council Report and Recommendation(s) for Possible Student Senate Action

This is an opportunity for the Vice President of Fiscal Affairs to present financial recommendations and reports as well as an opportunity for the Senate to approve financial recommendations. Following deliberation and action by the Fiscal Affairs Council, the Vice President of Fiscal Affairs recommends the following Senate action(s) be taken:

- 1. Club Start-Up Funds: None
- 2. One time event or other fund requests: None
- 3. Request for transfer: None

III.02 Participatory Governance Committee Reports

V.P. of Diplomatic Affairs to make recommendations for appointments to shared governance committees as well as an opportunity for reports from any individual involved in a campus wide committee.

• Caitlyn Nojiri – Academic Senate

III.03 Student Body President's Report

Leanna Gutierrez, Student Body President, provided her report.

- Recycling Center Grand Opening
- Representation on the District Consultation Council

IV. Unfinished Business

V.New Business

All items under new business are discussion and/or action items. Attachments are available in the ASOCC Office.

IV.01 <u>2017-2018 Student Government Openings Position</u>

The Senate and Executive Board discussed the open positions of 2017-2018 Student Government.

IV.02 <u>2017-2018 SGOCC Sustainability Committee Members</u>

Without objection, Jesse Lopez was appointed to the SGOCC Sustainability Committee.

IV.03 2017-2018 Vice President of Diplomatic Affairs Vacancy

Motion by Caitlyn Nojiri to approve the application timeline to fill the vacancy of the Vice President of Diplomatic Affair; 2nd by David Vo. Motion passes without objection.

 Applications will open on September 5, 2017 and close on September 17, 2017 at 2 p.m. Interviews will be held during the Senate and E-Board Meeting on September 22, 2017.

IV.04 Participatory Governance Committee (PGC)

The following students were appointed as temporary student representatives to their respective Participatory Governance Committees without objection:

Junell Brown - Academic Petition Council Committee

Nick Liszewski – College Council

Caitlyn Nojiri-Sustainability Committee

Kristina Tseng – Curriculum Committee

Katherine Hoang - Facilities Planning Committee & Technology Committee

Erfan Behrangi - Student Success and Enrollment Committee

Jesse Lopez - Administrative Services Planning Council

Frances Sanchez - Friends of the Library Committee

Haley Burg - Instructional Food Services Committee

Ethan Wien - Student Services Planning Council

IV.05 2017-2018 SGOCC Fiscal Affairs Vice President

Without objection, Kristina Tseng was appointed as the Fiscal Affairs Council Vice President.

Without objection, the orders of the day were suspended to go back to item III.02, Participatory Governance Committee Reports.

IV.06 Fiscal Affairs Council Request for Funding Form

Motion by Junell Brown to approve the change in the Fiscal Affairs Council Request for Funding Form; 2nd by Jesse Lopez. Motion passes without objection.

IV.07 Coast Community College District (CCCD) District Student Council (DSC)

Motion by Leanna Gutierrez to appoint Frances Sanchez, Jake Chustz, Nick Liszewski and Victoriia Vasileva as the CCCD District Student Council representatives from the OCC Student Government; 2nd by Kristina Tseng. Motion passes without objection.

IV.08 Student Representative for Hiring Committee

Motion by Nick Liszewski to appoint Junell Brown as the student representative to the search committee of a Planetarium Manager and Manager of Art Galleries & Exhibits; 2^{nd} by Erfan Behrangi. Motion passes without objection.

IV.09 <u>2017-2018 Student Senate and Executive Board Goals</u>

The Student Senate and Executive Board discussed their 2017-2018 goals.

VI. Public Forum Two

This time is reserved for members of the public to address the Senate on issues on or not already appearing on the agenda. A limit of five (5) minutes per speaker and fifteen (15) minutes per topic will be enforced. This is not a period of discussion for the Senate, however, the Senate President may respond to specific questions and concerns made by the public.

VII.General SGOCC Reports

VI.01 Advisors' Report (Limited to 2 minutes per report)

VI.02 Board, Officer and Staff Reports (Limited to 2 minute per person)

VIII.Adjournment