Associated Students of Orange Coast College SGOCC Student Senate MEETING MINTES Friday, September 8, 2017; 9:00 a.m. ASOCC Office

2701 Fairview Road • Costa Mesa, California 92626 • (714) 432-5730

I.Organizational Items

 I.01 Call to Order: 9:04 a.m.
I.02 Roll Call Student Senators: Erfan Behrangi (left meeting at 11:04 a.m.), Haley Burg, Jake Chustz, Katherine Hoang, Jesse Lopez, Caitlyn Nojiri (absent) Jose Sanchez, Viktoriia Vasileva, & Ethan Wien Executive Board: David Vo, Frances Sanchez, Leanna Gutierrez, Nick Liszewski (arrived at 9:18 a.m.), Junell Brown, & Kristina Tseng ASOCC Staff: Eva Shaffer Advisor: Julie Nguyen
I.03 Opportunity for Pledge of Allegiance
I.04 Approval of Minutes Motion by Jungill Brown to approve the minutes from Associated Students of Orange Coast Collage (ASOCC). Student Government of Orange

Motion by Junell Brown to approve the minutes from Associated Students of Orange Coast College (ASOCC), Student Government of Orange Coast College (SGOCC) Student Senate Meeting dated September 1, 2017; 2nd by David Vo. Minutes approved without objection.

II.Public Forum

III.Reports

III.01 Fiscal Affairs Council Report and Recommendation(s) for Possible Student Senate Action

This is an opportunity for the Vice President of Fiscal Affairs to present financial recommendations and reports as well as an opportunity for the Senate to approve financial recommendations. Following deliberation and action by the Fiscal Affairs Council, the Vice President of Fiscal Affairs recommends the following Senate action(s) be taken:

1. Club Start-Up Funds: Young Americans for Freedom, Circle K, Gamer's Guild, Puente, Planned Parenthood Generation Action, and Pride.

Motion by Leanna Gutierrez to approve the \$50.00 Club Start-Up Funds for the Young Americans for Freedom, Circle K, Gamer's Guild, Puente, Planned Parenthood Generation Action, and Pride Club; 2nd by David Vo. Motion passes without objection.

One time event or other fund requests: Associated Students of Orange Coast College (ASOCC) will be presenting the request for \$8,164.98 to attend the California Community College Student Affairs Association (CCCSAA) student leadership conference at San Jose, California

Motion by Junell Brown to approve funding \$8,164.98 for the Associated Students of Orange Coast College to attend the California Community College Student Affairs Association (CCCSAA) student leadership conference at San Jose, California; 2nd by David Vo. Motion passes without objection.

III.02 Participatory Governance Committee Reports

Opportunity for V.P. of Diplomatic Affairs to make recommendations for appointments to shared governance committees as well as an opportunity for reports from any individual involved in a campus wide committee.

- Katherine Hoang reported on the Facilities Planning Committee
- Junell Brown reported on the Academic Petition Council
- Kristina Tseng reported on the Curriculum Committee

III.03 <u>Student Body President's Report</u>

.

Leanna Gutierrez, Student Body President, provided her report.

- College Council
- Representation on the District Consultation Council Ethan Wien will attend

III.04 Standing/Ad-hoc/Special Committees

1. Sustainability Committee – Kristina Tseng reported

Motion by Viktoriia Vasileva to appoint David Vo, Junell Brown, and Rebecca Whitehead as members of the Sustainability Committee; 2^{nd} by Jake Chustz. Motion passes without objection.

IV.Unfinished Business

V.New Business

All items under new business are discussion and/or action items. Attachments are available in the ASOCC Office.

V.01 2017-2018 Constitution & Bylaws Committee

Presentation and possible appointment of members to the 2017-2018 Constitution & Bylaws Committee. Motion by Leanna Gutierrez to appoint Junell Brown, Jake Chustz, Frances Sanchez, Kristina Tseng, Jose Sanchez, Katherine Hoang and Ethan Wien to the 2017-2018 Constitution and Bylaws Committee; 2nd by David Vo. Motion passes without objection. Motion by David Vo to appoint Frances Sanchez as chair to the 2017-2018 Constitution and Bylaws Committee; 2nd by Jose Sanchez. Motion passes without objection.

V.02 2017-2018 Vice President of Diplomatic Affairs Interview Questions

Discussion and possible action of the Vice President of Diplomatic Affair interview questions. Motion by Junell Brown to approve the Vice President of Diplomatic Affair interview questions presented to the Senate and Executive Board; 2nd by Jesse Lopez. Motion passes without objection.

V.03 2017-2018 Student Senate and Executive Board Goals

Presentation regarding the Student Senate and Executive Board goals. Motion by Junell Brown to create a Mentorship Task Force; 2nd by Nick Liszewski. Motion passes without objection.

Motion by Erfan Behrangi to appoint Jake Chustz, Erfan Behrangi, Nick Liszewski, Viktoriia Vasileva, David Vo and Katherine Hoang as members of the Mentor Program Task Force; 2nd by Kristina Tseng. Motion passes without objection.

Motion by Junell Brown to appoint Nick Liszewski as the chair to the Mentor Program Task Force; 2^{nd} by Kristina Tseng. Motion passes without objection.

Motion by Leanna Gutierrez to create an Events Task Force; 2nd by Jesse Lopez. Motion passes without objection.

Motion by Nick Liszewski to appoint Junell Brown, Jesse Lopez, Frances Sanchez and Leanna Gutierrez as members of the Events Task Force; 2^{nd} by Kristina Tseng. Motion passes without objection.

Motion by Kristina Tseng to appoint Jesse Lopez as the chair of the Events Task Force; 2^{nd} by Jose Sanchez. Motion passes without objection.

VI.Public Forum Two

This time is reserved for members of the public to address the Senate on issues on or not already appearing on the agenda. A limit of five (5) minutes per speaker and fifteen (15) minutes per topic will be enforced. This is not a period of discussion for the Senate, however, the Senate President may respond to specific questions and concerns made by the public.

VII.General SGOCC Reports

VII.01 Advisors' Report (Limited to 2 minutes per report)

VII.02 Board, Officer and Staff Reports (Limited to 2 minute per person)

VIII.Adjournment: 11:06 a.m.